How to grow mint

Yeah, I realize this is sorta obvious, but it might be my only real success story for the summer. I’ve been hiking a lot and neglecting my garden more than I’d like.

Mint has a reputation for being indestructible, and it’s largely true. However, growing pest free appetizing leaves that are great for watermelon salad & mojitos isn’t as obvious.

The best way to start mint is by propagating a sprig you’ve bought from the grocery store. Mint seeds are tiny & weak, and buying mint from the local garden shop, you may not get a kind that’s good for eating (because there are a billion varieties).

MintProp
Before & after, taken 10 days apart. The only thing easier to propagate might be cactus & succulents, but even then, it’s a toss up.

Strip off all but the top 4-6 leaves from the sprig (and eat them), and then dunk the mint sprig into a glass of water. Then, wait 10 days until you get some roots. Stick those roots in some dirt, and shazam, you have a mint plant.

Here in California, I grow mint inside. Whenever I’ve grown it outside, my plant gets bombarded by aphids, powdery mildew, and caterpillars. Inside, it’s just so much easier to keep the leaves looking pristine & tasty.

Other herbs to grow: basil (does great outdoors from seed), chives (I neglect mine, they come back in winter), parsley (but who eats parsley?). Herbs not to grow: cilantro (insta-bolts unless you coddle it), anything that’s good dried (thyme, rosemary).

One thought on “How to grow mint

Leave a comment